PDA

View Full Version : I have an awesome Job !

elcortez
21-Feb-2011, 01:12 PM
Hi !
My name is Romain, I'm a college student and for my lab assistant job I have to put order in a butterfly collection(about 200 individuals). I feel really lucky to be able to manipulate them,there are beautifull and some are 80 years old !! So you might have guess, I know nothing about butterflies...and they lost the index of the collection !! That's why I came here, is there some place where I can find caracteres that help to classify butterflies ?I think there is some kind of order, I need to find how they build the collection. Basically, I would like to find for which family or order each box are related to, and then I could start identify each individuals. I know most of butterfly classification are based on the shape of the wings ? I'm looking for stereotype character for each family...
I have also two guys that weren't in any box, can you help me to find out what are they ?
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/_FDY7jU9BqvA/TWHkz4LYfvI/AAAAAAAAAEo/Eix8uCAIzPk/s720/Butterfly1.jpg
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/_FDY7jU9BqvA/TWHk0LsaDSI/AAAAAAAAAEs/msiJPPVktI0/s640/butterfly2.jpg

Thank you in advance :)

Commander
21-Feb-2011, 01:22 PM
Hi there, and welcome to ButterflyCircle. :cheers:

Yes, indeed, you have an awesome task ahead of you! I suggest searching the Internet for some good books on world butterflies. They are usually well annotated and organised taxonomically.

Your first butterfly is Druryeia antimachus (African Giant). You can read about it here (http://www.worldfieldguide.com/wfg-species-detail.php?taxno=8498&gr=world) <-- click to link

For the smaller one, I'd have to defer to Les or Keith who may be more familiar with it. Looks like a Nymphalidae.

elcortez
21-Feb-2011, 01:32 PM
Thank you for the quick answer !(and sorry for the tippo in the title, I tried to edit it but it didn't work :sweat: )